Vipera berus

It’s been a while that I posted anything. That has been due to the fact that I accepted a new job in Aachen and I had to move and adapt do all the completely new conditions. I am still adapting actually. But one cool thing has happened: I met a cool guy that wanted to catch a certain snake species on camera: the Vipera berus, or „Kreuzotter“ as it is called in German. It is pretty much the only venomous snake species in the country and only rarely seen. However, roumor had it that it was seen in the moorscapes of the near Venn region in the borderlands of Belgium and Western Germany.

So, having identified our mutual interest in snakes and photography we ventured into the moor. Four consequent weekends we had to start our expeditions till we got lucky and almost stepped onto this beautiful baby adder. I am afraid my auto focus fucked me up a little, but it still is a wonderful specimen.

While my friend crawled on the floor with his huge tele lens, I got myself comfortable with my convenient semi macro lense and followed the little snake on its path. It was probably not longer than 30 cm, but beautifully coloured and didn’t mind us being around.

Hinterlasse einen Kommentar